Understanding Social Security Disability Benefits

Navigating the complexities of Social Security Disability Benefits (SSDI) can be daunting, especially when you’re already dealing with the challenges of a disability. At Logan-Thompson, PC, we are committed to helping you understand your rights and guiding you through the application process to secure the benefits you deserve. This comprehensive guide aims to demystify SSDI and provide the essential information to make informed decisions.

Who Qualifies for SSDI

To qualify for SSDI, you must meet specific criteria:

  1. Work History: You must have worked long enough and recently enough to pay Social Security taxes on your earnings. Typically, you need 40 work credits, 20 of which were earned in the last ten years before your disability.
  2. Medical Condition: Your disability must be severe enough to limit your ability to perform basic work activities significantly. It must also be expected to last at least one year or result in death.
  3. Inability to Work: You must be unable to perform any substantial gainful activity (SGA) due to your medical condition.

The Application Process

Applying for SSDI involves several steps, and it is crucial to provide comprehensive and accurate information to avoid delays or denials. Here’s a brief overview of the process:

  1. Initial Application: Submit your application online, by phone, or in person at your local SSA office. Ensure you have all necessary documentation, including medical records, work history, and personal information.
  2. Review: The SSA will review your application to determine if you meet the basic eligibility requirements.
  3. Medical Evaluation: Your application will be sent to the Disability Determination Services (DDS) office in your state, where a team will evaluate your medical condition and ability to work.
  4. Decision: You will receive a letter from the SSA with their decision. If approved, you will start receiving benefits after a five-month waiting period. If denied, you have the right to appeal.

Appealing a Denial

If your application is denied, keep hope. Many initial applications are denied, but you have the right to appeal. The appeals process includes several stages:

  1. Reconsideration: A different SSA representative will review your case.
  2. Hearing: If reconsideration is denied, you can request a hearing before an administrative law judge.
  3. Appeals Council: If the judge denies your claim, you can request a review by the SSA’s Appeals Council.

How Logan-Thompson, PC Can Help

Navigating the SSDI process can be overwhelming, but you don’t have to do it alone. At Logan-Thompson, PC, our experienced attorneys specialize in Social Security Disability claims and are dedicated to helping you every step of the way. From gathering essential documentation to representing you in appeals, we are committed to securing the benefits you deserve.


0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *