DUI & Cannabis: Tennessee Law

Though we typically associate a DUI with alcohol, it’s important to note that Driving Under the Influence means driving under the influence of any substance that can and will impair your judgment and driving abilities. DUIs can be for controlled substances, alcohol, and drugs. Tennessee is one of the 13 states where medical cannabis is not available. Tennessee is one of the 19 states where anyone possessing cannabis, even a small amount of a half ounce or less, is punishable by incarceration.

The only form of cannabis allowed in Tennessee is high-CBD, low-THC cannabis oil for seizure patients, which means that any use of cannabis, medically or recreationally, is illegal. As with Tennessee law, cannabis possession and cultivation is illegal. Cannabis possession is a misdemeanor, punishable up to 11 months and 29 days with a fine of up to $2,500. Cultivation of 10 plants or less is a felony, punishable by one to six years in prison with years added per plant over the 10.

When it comes to driving, part of getting a license is to hold yourself accountable to the laws of the land. No matter your personal beliefs on cannabis, you cannot be under its influence while driving. Not only will you be charged with possession, but you will also be charged with a DUI. If you cause injury or death, the charges will increase per incident.

Please drive safely and stay attentive to yourself and others.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *